Log in

Ethics & Social Justice Committees 


The DCPA Ethics Committee is available to answer ethical questions for DC psychologists. 


The basic purpose of the DCPA Ethics Committee is to support and uphold ethical sensitivity and practice among members of the District of Columbia Psychological Association. We serve primarily as an educative and consultative body to our membership, the DCPA Board of Directors and, as appropriate, to the public. We are not an investigative or punitive body. To achieve our goal of providing education, consultation, and support, the committee provides seminars, consultation groups, and individual consultation.  For more information contact Doug Favero at robertfavero@aol.com.


The social action arm of the Ethics Committee held its first meeting on November 15, 2013.  The members and friends of the sub-committee help interested DCPA members forge a deeper involvement with social justice needs and advocates in our D.C. community. Sub-committee members see this kind of involvement as a commitment to ethics in the broadest sense. For further information contact co-chairs, Sheena Wadhawan at sheenawadhawan@gmail.com and Doug Favero at robertfavero@aol.com.

Procedures for Individual Ethical Consultation 

Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct


The American Psychological Association’s Ethical Principles and Code of Conduct provide a foundation for psychologists' systematic and public application of professional expertise to social issues. Therefore, the overarching mission of this committee is to cultivate and channel engagement, connection and collective responsibility in relevant areas of social justice among DCPA members and the communities we serve.


We aim to create opportunities for genuine exchange where a diversity of voices and perspectives can be shared.

1.  While we value a variety of perspectives, we recognize power and privilege differentials and prioritize marginalized voices.

2.  We aim to provide spaces where we can explore and address cultural conditioning and other systemic forces such as racism, sexism, and poverty that promote divisiveness, exploitation and inequity.

3.  We aim to connect with the community in visible, accessible and meaningful ways

4.  We recognize the reciprocal benefits of community engagement.

5.  We recognize research emphasizing that our social connections and sense of belonging are fundamental human needs, powerfully and intricately linked to our wellbeing. 

6.  We identify values-based and research-driven platforms for activism.

7.  We aim to honor the APA Ethical Principles of Beneficence, Fidelity and Responsibility, Integrity, Justice, and Respect for People's Rights and Dignity.


1.  We will identify priority issues and areas of focus around which to raise awareness, advocate and organize actions.

2.  We will self-educate to address our own blind spots and areas of insufficient knowledge, so that we can respectfully be in solidarity with members of our DC community.

3.  We will provide training and professional development opportunities for our membership in identified areas of focus.

4.  We will partner with organizations in a way that is driven by organizational needs and the priorities of affected community members.

5.  We will partner with professional organizations representing different voices and life experiences.

6.  We will increase access to mental health services within DC by:

      • Assembling resource lists and directories accurately reflecting members’ areas of expertise and community needs.
      • Providing support groups, workshops, and empirically supported information in response to community needs, concerns, and crises.
      • Making specific outreach efforts to the most vulnerable within our communities.
      • Engaging in policy dialogues, making public statements, and advocating for legislation in ways that fulfill our ethical principles and multicultural guidelines and in response to current events.


Douglas R. Favero, Ph.D. (Chair): robertfavero@aol.com

Stephen J. Lally, Ph.D.: slally@argosy.edu

Marilyn Schwartz, Ph.D: drmarilynschwartz@gmail.com

Stephen Stein, Ph.D.:s613s@aol.com

Suzan Stafford, Ed.D.: suzanms@verizon.net

Jeanette Witter, Ph.D.: jeanette.witter@usuhs.edu

Jean Gearon, Ph.D.: jean.gearon@verizon.net

Giselle Hass, Psy.D: giselle.hass@gmail.com

Jade Wood, M.A.: jadewood@aol.com

Ron Simpson, M.A.: rws2480@ego.thechicagoschool.edu

David Freeman, Psy.D: dfreeman@ccdc.1.org

SOCIAL JUSTICE SUB-COMMITTEE (add to names on left):

Sheena Wadhawan, Esq. (Co-Chair): sheenawadhawan@gmail.com 

Noah Collins, Ph.D.: nmc2001@umd.edu 

William Harman, Ph.D.: williamfharman@verion.net

Oksana Vladi, MSW: oksanavladi@aol.com

Michelle Vecchio, MSW: mmvecchio65@gmail.com 


Email us at amber@reisman-white.com

Office: (512) 788-0207
Fax: (800) 784-9034


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software